Help & Frequently Asked Questions Help & Frequently Asked Questions

Help & FAQ Home  |  Most Common Questions  |  Browse by Category  |  Search Entries


Search FAQs
Category:
Keywords: FAQ ID:


Question/Problem Question/Problem
  How can I set my email program to leave a copy of messages on the server?
Answer/Resolution Answer/Resolution
 

Instructions for leaving a copy of messages on server (POP3 accounts)

 
Overview:

When using the POP3 protocol, the default behavior is to automatically delete messages from the email server whenever you check your mail.  If you only use a single computer to check your mail, this works fine, but if you use webmail, or another computer, or a mobile device such as a Blackberry or iPhone, you’ll need to change this setting.

 

If you’re using the IMAP protocol, these instructions do not apply.  When using IMAP, all changes are synchronized to the server, so if you delete a message, it will be removed from the server.

 

If you use Microsoft Outlook 2007:

Go to Tools, Account Settings, select your Smarsh account and click Change.  Click the More Settings button, then click the Advanced tab.  Make sure the checkbox at the bottom to leave a copy of messages on the server is checked, and check both boxes below that.  The default of 10 days is fine for most people.  Click OK, then Next, Finish, and Close.

 

If you use Microsoft Outlook 2003 or 2002:

Go to Tools, E-mail Accounts, select “View or change existing e-mail accounts” and click Next, then select your Smarsh account and click Change.  Click the More Settings button, then click the Advanced tab.  Make sure the checkbox at the bottom to leave a copy of messages on the server is checked, and check both boxes below that.  The default of 10 days is fine for most people.  Click OK, then Next and Finish.

 

If you use Windows Mail, Outlook Express, or Microsoft Outlook 2000:

Go to Tools, Accounts, select your Smarsh account and click Properties.  Click the Advanced tab, and make sure the checkbox at the bottom to leave a copy of messages on the server is checked.  Check both boxes below that, and change the number of days from the default of 5 to 10 (unless you’re sure you want to use another setting).  Click OK, then Close.

 

If you use Mail for Mac OS X:

From the Mail menu go to Preferences, and make sure the Accounts button is selected at the top.  Select your Smarsh account on the left, and click the Advanced tab.  The checkbox labeled “Remove copy from server after receiving a message” should be checked, but the option below that should be set to “After one week” (unless you’re sure you want to use another setting).  Click Close.

 

If you use Mozilla Thunderbird:

Go to Tools, Account Settings, and under your account on the left, click Server Settings.  Check the box “Leave messages on server”, then check both boxes underneath that.  The default of 14 days should be fine for most people.  Click OK.

 

If you use some other program to check your mail, or if the above instructions didn’t solve your problem:

Call Smarsh Support for help, at 1-866-762-7741 option 2.


Category : Email Hosting - Outlook
FAQ ID : 218
Last Updated : 8/30/2010